Knowledge Base

How to Restore an Image Using a Cybernet Ghost Drive

The Cybernet Ghost Drive is a bootable USB thumb drive that contains the Ghost files need to re-image a unit to a fresh operating system or your custom OS environment.

Warning: Follow the procedure below will erase all previous data on your computer. Please makes sure to back up any important data or settings before continuing.

To re-image your unit follow the steps below.

Insert the thumb drive into a USB port and boot to the thumb drive by launching the Boot Menu. Most Cybernet units use F11. The Cybernet/CyberMed-T10C uses F5 and the IPC-R1 uses F7.

Once the Boot Menu appears, select the Cybernet Ghost thumb drive and press enter. You will be prompted to press any key to boot to the thumb drive.

Next you will see a screen showing Windows is loading files. Wait for this to complete. At the next screen, you will see a DOS style command prompt. Windows is loading files in the back ground. Wait for this to complete. Once finished, the Norton Ghost program will load.

When thumb drive boots, press OK at the Symantec Ghost splash screen.


This will reveal a menu in the lower corner. Using the menu, navigate to Local > Disk > From Image.


At the next screen you will be asked for the image to restore from. Use the drop down menu at the top of the window to navigate to the root of the Cybernet Ghost thumb drive. Here you will find a file with the extension of .GHO.


After selecting the .GHO file a new window will ask for the destination drive. The main hard drive in your unit should be highlighted. Verify this is correct and click "Okay."


You do not need to make any changes at the Destination Drive Details Window. Select Ok to move on.


Next you will be asked to verify that you want to proceed with the image restore. Select Yes to start the restoration process.


When the restoration process is complete, you will be asked to Continue or Reset Computer. At this point you can remove the Cybernet Ghost thumb drive and select Reset Computer.


Your computer will reboot into Windows mini setup or your custom image.